My First Mile – Walk Like A Giraffe

I recently experienced a major triumph in my life and am so happy to share.

As a recap, I have severe anxieties that seem to be getting worse instead of better.  I will eventually write a little bit more about them, but this isn’t that blog.

I’m basically house bound and am not going anywhere. It’s a really good day if I go sit out on my patio – which I am doing more frequently. But I recently set a pretty big goal for myself that I’ll write about in a few months as I make more substantial progress. But I’m definitely on my way and for me quite literally, “a journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.”

I’ve been walking. Which is so huge for me that I’m getting emotional writing about it. I used to walk all the time. One of my first blog posts was about my walks. So a lot changed for me in a year. I have to go later in the day when there aren’t as many people out – but I’m doing it.

And I don’t know how or why I came upon this concept of virtual races – but they exist and I have succeeded because of them.

The thing about virtual races is that you can do them at your own pace, you can walk or run them and if you’re like me, you can avoid the people completely by doing it at night when everyone else is inside. I found one that you could walk just one mile and I was like, “Yes! That is for me!”

Because along with a goal to shoot for and a sense of accomplishment, they send you medals!

The virtual race I chose was “The Giraffe One Mile.” What is so cute and perfect about it was that I have been obsessed with April the Giraffe. I waited for her to give birth and even though I didn’t get to see her give birth live, I did watch it later that day. It’s fascinating and if you want to watch it here you go. And of course I fell in love with her baby! He is so freaking cute and has so much personality:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

(All these photos are from The Animal Adventure Park Facebook page but click that link to go directly to their website. And if you can make a donation please do!)

So I wanted to walk that mile and get the medal in honor of Tajiri! And I did it!

Here is a scenery shot or two:IMG_4284

(photo cred:MT)

IMG_4357

And I didn’t get any triumphant photos of me with my arms flailing or anything because the walk itself was very dramatic.    I’m out of shape because I haven’t done any aerobic anything in a long time. And I threw up when a bug flew in my mouth. That was awesome fodder for my walkmates but horrifying for me.

But I do have this:

IMG_4345
Cue the theme for Rocky

When I got back home I entered the time and look what came for me in the mail today:

IMG_4346

I DID IT!! I REALLY DID IT! And the medal is legit! Check it out:

IMG_4347

And this is just a fun shot with one of my giraffe toys (for posterity that I’ve always loved giraffes – but April, Oliver and Tajiri are #familygoals.)

IMG_4356

And VOILA! How do you turn your first small steps into an extraordinary success?   Do it all with something bigger than yourself in mind!

If you’re interested in checking out a virtual race, here are some great pages:

US Road Running

Virtual Strides

Thank you so much for reading! As always don’t forget to like, comment and subscribe!

-clt

Leave a Reply

