The First Try – Chicken Parmesan

This is a super fun one.

It goes back to Valentine’s Day when I wanted to make a special dinner for my eternal and favorite Valentine, TeenQueen. I have become totally addicted to Live videos on Facebook and they were always posting recipes for Chicken Parm, so I had to try it.

I have few photos, as usual while I’m in the process I get caught up in the moment! But now that I’m back online, it is still my mission to take more photos.

Something I did a bit different with mine is that instead of coating mine in bread crumbs, I chose to use Shake ‘N Bake – chicken flavor. Good heaven it was amazing! I followed their suggestion of rubbing some mayonnaise on it and it made the chicken so unbelievably tender! I also cut an opening in the side of the chicken breast and stuffed it with shredded mozzarella.

This is what it looked like when finished:

 

out of the oven.jpg

I mean seriously!

A funny thing happened. When we were gathering ingredients, I forgot the marinara sauce which you know, makes it chicken parmesan! I had to make it from scratch which by some odd coincidence I had whole tomatoes in my pantry and I NEVER use whole tomatoes! Now, the marinara I made was absolute perfection – but I’m not going to share the recipe just yet because I still need to tweak it but here it is simmering for me:

homemade marinara

And maybe from this next photo you’ll be able to figure out what I did wrong and what tweaking it needs:

 

chicken parm total

If you can’t tell – the sauce isn’t coating my pasta. I need to add some tomato paste next time but it was still so tasty and I was very proud of it.

Then for dessert I made chocolate mousse. I followed a recipe and used yogurt, but I didn’t really like it that way. It’s another recipe I have to keep working on, but here it is:

chocolate mousse

It was very simple to cook and TQ felt so loved that I tried to make her such a special dinner. If you’re ever in the mood for something special and quick and easy I definitely recommend trying chicken parm – you’ll surprise yourself at what a pro you’ve become!

Thank you for reading!

Please comment, like and share!

Leave a Reply

