Art’s Town

Every July artists across every genre converge in Reno in a spectacular celebration of the arts. We call it Artown. A person can do anything from watching movies in the park, to taking an art class, seeing a new exhibit or performance or simply enjoying the fact that art is everywhere in the month of July. There are so many events that it’s hard to keep up with everything you want to do.

This year Artown is pretty special to me because I’m very lucky to have a friend who had his very first photography exhibit!

Arthur Houston and I worked together. And it was one of those funny things where I was very drawn to him because he has a very distinctive voice. He sounds a lot like the firefly Ray in the movie The Princess and the Frog. One day we happened to be eating with our co-workers at the same table and I was finally able to introduce myself. He turned out to be one of the most interesting people I’d met in a long time. And he was excited to share his photography with me so of course I had to attend his show and offer him my support.

His exhibit is called, Beautiful Nevada: See Nevada Through the Eyes of Photographer Arthur HoustonArt, like any true artist, is able to take something we see everyday, and show it to us in a way that we suddenly see something extraordinary in what we may otherwise think of as mundane.  The name of his exhibit, Beautiful Nevada, is what inspired me to do my own photography tour of Reno. He is simply a huge inspiration to me.

But instead of simply bragging about my friend and his photography exhibit, I thought I’d give him the star treatment and feature him on my blog. He was happy to talk to me during his first showing on July 12th.

JAL: So Art, why don’t you tell me a little bit about your exhibit today.

AH: Okay, well it’s called Natural Beauty  of Nevada. It was taken in some parts of Reno, some parts of Sparks, some parts of the Truckee River.  I have pictures on the way to California some of the pictures you see of the big trees is on the freeway going down there. I’ve been doing photography for the past eighteen, nineteen years, but everything you see here was taken in the last year.

JAL: What got you interested in photographing the area in particular.

AH: Well I saw a lot of beauty that other people didn’t see… the way the water runs and the way the clouds were arranged. I have some pictures of the Truckee River and people see just rocks and trees and I see the beauty in that. I wanted to show people what I see.

arts work on display

(Art’s work on display on July 12th, 2016)

JAL: What do you like best about photography?

AH: I like to look at something that some people will look at like, hm, but I see a piece of art. I like creating things and if you look at the pictures right you can see the framing of it, you can see the lines and the curves of the thing.

JAL: Do you have any advice for aspiring photographers?

AH: Sure. If you like doing it, go ahead and do it. Shoot, shoot, shoot. Even when people are thinking why you taking a picture of those tires or the rocks laying in the road, take a picture because believe it or not, after you look at the picture, it was never what you thought it was.

JAL: Thank you very much Art.

AH: You’re very welcome my friend.

IMG_1173

(Arthur Houston stands in front of his work on display on July 12, 2016)

There you have it. I hope you enjoyed my conversation with Art, and I hope it may have inspired you to follow through with your own creative passions.

Thank you for reading. As always, please like, comment and follow!

-clt

**Note: Due to technical difficulties I was unable to publish this post before his second showing. But if you have any questions or would like to see his work you can contact him at: hasolutionz@mail.com

my arthur houston mug

(My souvenir mug with my favorite Arthur Houston photo)

One thought on “Art’s Town

  1. What a nice article!

    I had the pleasure of presenting Arthur Houston’s Beautiful Nevada exhibit in my Meineke shop’s waiting room. His work sure classed up the place for the two weeks it was on display.

    Arthur is such a nice and genuine person which is what drew me to him as well. That and his beautiful photography.

    Like

Leave a Reply

